What is the Antilles Episcopal Conference


The Antilles Episcopal Conference (AEC) is an international council of Catholic bishops embracing five ecclesiastical provinces in 21 ecclesiastical units, including 5 Archdioceses and 14 dioceses serving peoples of diverse languages and cultures.  

 It comprises the English, French and Dutch territories of the Caribbean, with the exception of Haïti, and constitutes the geographical area entrusted to the pastoral care of the Bishops of the AEC.

style="margin: 0in 0in 6pt; text-align: justify">Politically, within the five Provinces there are thirteen independent nations (Belize, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Antigua and Barbuda, St Lucia, Grenada, Dominica, Guyana, Suriname, The Bahamas, St. Kitts-Nevis,  three Departments of France (Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique), two parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands having complete internal autonomy (Curacao + and Aruba ), and six British colonies (Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Montserrat and Turks and Caicos Islands).  


In faithful communion with the universal church and each other, we proclaim Christ the Saviour, promote worship and lead our people by witness to address the issues of common concern in the church and in society.    


Goal #1: To foster ongoing communion and collaboration, both affective and effective, in addressing the vital issues of our church and society. 

            By knowing the reality of our dioceses  

            By using digital communications between plenary sessions

            By proactively
addressing issues of human life and dignity as they impact our people.     


Goal #2: To foster communion with the church in other nations within the church universal under the Supreme Pontiff by promoting in our formation programmes at all levels communion with the Holy See

            By studying the documents of the Holy See and other episcopal conferences as appropriate   

            By giving special attention to our relationship with the Episcopal Conferences of Latin America and the Caribbean (CELAM)  

            By maintaining ongoing relationships with other bishops’ conferences      


Goal #3: To assist each bishop in meeting his pastoral responsibilities to the extent that means permit 

            By identifying and addressing our critical common pastoral and societal challenges   

            By sharing talent and human resources

            By developing and sharing Pastoral letters and policies for addressing spiritual, moral and human development  issues of common concern.


In alignment with Ecclesia in America (the 1999 Conferences of Bishops of the Americas)  and Aparecida, (the 2007  Conference in Brazil of the Bishops of Latin America and the Caribbean)  the AEC pastoral priority for 2012-2015 is the New Evangelization with specific emphasis on deepening the understanding and expression of faith of the whole People of God.