Montego Bay - Sees, Country Information


Province of Kingston in Jamaica
Established as a Diocese September 14, 1967
Formerly part of Vicariate Apostolic of Jamaica


The Roman Catholic Diocese of Montego Bay was canonically erected in 1967 by His Holiness Pope Paul VI, with the then Bishop Edgerton Clarke as its first bishop. When Bishop Clarke was transferred to Kingston as the Metropolitan Archbishop,
the present Bishop Charles H. Dufour became in 1996 the second diocesan bishop of Montego Bay. Formerly a part of the Diocese of Kingston, the diocese of Montego Bay is a Suffragan See of the Metropolitan See of Kingston.
The Diocese of Montego Bay comprises five civic parishes (and their main centers) which are: St. James (Montego Bay), Trelawney (Falmouth), St. Ann (St. Ann’s Bay) Westmoreland (Savannah-la-Mar) and Hanover (Lucea). The total area of the diocese is about 1,500 sq. miles with an estimated population of 723,200.  The Catholic population is estimated at 13,200 or about 2% of the total population.
You can get in touch with us at:
Diocese of Montego Bay
1-3 Fort Street
P.O. Box 197
Montego Bay, Jamaica, W.I.
Tel. (876) 952-6678
FAX (876)